• Format: CD
  • Band: Olympic
  • Title: Želva
  • Band's Origin: CS
  • Style: Beat
  • Rating: 4
  • Release Year: 2004
  • Recording Year: 1967
  • Production Year: 1968/2004
  • Record Company: Supraphon
  • Item's Number: SU 5534-2
  • Color of the Label:
  • Edition:
  • Extras: slipcase
  • EAN: 099925553425
  • Weight: 114 g
  • Visual: new
  • Acoustic:
  • Cover: new

Supraphon Release Information

With the reedition of Olympic’s debut LP Želva (1968), Supraphon has launched a series that will gradually map all the band’s studio and live albums right up until 1990. The final part will provide a retrospective of earlier recordings released by the Best I. A. label. The legendary Želva (Turtle), which in the currently one and only Czech Disc of Discs poll came fifth (between Karel Kryl and Flamengo), is supplemented by seven bonus singles dating from 1965-1967, whose multi-part vocals were Olympic’s reply to the Mersey sound of The Beatles.

For the first time since 1968, you can feast your eyes on the original artwork of Olympic’s debut album, adorned with illustrations by Jan Antonín Pacák, the band’s percussionist. Excellent work was done in this respect by Vrkoslav and Zámostný from Olympic’s fan club. The CD’s remastered sound corresponds to 2013 standards yet with regard to the original analogue patina. In addition to the original sleevenotes and new commentaries by the edition’s executive producer, Jaromír Tůma, the extensive booklet also contains unique (in several cases previously unpublished!) photographs of the band.

The anniversary edition of the first Czech rock album: legendary music + plenty of concise information.

Kalemegdan Disk Additions

Olympic was the most popular band with the richest discography in Czechoslovakia. They started releasing beat singles in 1964 until in 1968 Želva, the first LP in the Czechoslovakian beat & rock history, came out.

The material for the CD including the well-chosen bonus tracks was carefully remastered so that it offers a good sound quality. Also the packing (an extensive booklet combined with a slipcase) is convincing.


1. Želva 3:36
2. Vzpomínka plíživá 2:45
3. Línej skaut 2:11
4. Dám zejtra zas flám 2:27
5. Modravé mámení 2:18
6. Nikdo neotvírá 2:06
7. Nebezpečná postava 1:42
8. Snad jsem to zavinil já 3:01
9. Dědečkův duch 2:17
10. Jen bůh ví 3:35
11. Telefon 1:48
12. Psychiatrický prášek 6:20
13. Mary (I Must Play) 2:00
14. Smutné ráno 2:16
15. Bloud král 2:17
16. Zahoď lásku 3:48
17. Nejím a nespím 1:42
18. Dej mi na klín oči unavený 2:29
19. Dej mi víc své lásky 2:51