Pražský Výběr
Straka v hrsti

  • Format: CD
  • Band: Pražský Výběr
  • Title: Straka v hrsti
  • Band's Origin: CS
  • Style: progressive Rock - Underground
  • Rating: 3
  • Release Year: 2012
  • Recording Year: 1982
  • Production Year: 1988/2012
  • Record Company: Supraphon
  • Item's Number: SU 6057-2
  • Color of the Label:
  • Edition:
  • Extras: digipak
  • EAN: 099925605728
  • Weight: 88 g
  • Visual: new
  • Acoustic:
  • Cover: new
Supraphon release information

One would be hard pressed indeed to name a recording with a more turbulent fate. Straka v hrsti (A Magpie in the Hand) served to show the great talent of the Pražský výber musicians, and the stupidity of the Communist regime. Despite the various stories around the enormous success, subsequent restrictions, violent police raids at the band’s eccentric concerts, the most substantial aspect of the album is the music itself. Music undoubtedly influenced by many perhaps “new wave” things, yet above all based on surprising ideas, marked compositional invention and instrumental skills, as well as lyrics with an unexpectedly Dadaistic impact.

Although Messrs Cok, Hrubeš, Kocáb and Pavlícek + Tomek would appear on stage in strange attire and masks, they certainly didn’t gain their extreme popularity owing solely to the image. Songs like Hrabe X, Na václavským Václaváku, Pražákum je hej, Zubatá, Proc jen já nebo Tango Ropotámo… (secretly listened to by the band’s fans on cassette players) are still a great testimony to (thankfully) bygone times. Something cleverly provocative took place, which partially gave rise to the notorious “liquidation” article titled “New wave with old content”, launching yet another crusade against freedom in music.

Straka v hrsti 2012: every Czech knows it inside-out but still alive and kicking.

A sonically remastered re-edition of the cult Czech rock album!

Kalemegdan Disk additions

Still missing.

1. Hrabe X 00:05:14
2. Na Václavskym Václaváku 00:02:22
3. Straka v hrsti 00:04:17
4. Pražákum je hej 00:05:02
5. Muj konícek 00:03:47
6. Bangabasava 00:02:25
7. S.O.S. 00:04:39
8. Zubatá 00:02:49
9. Tango Ropotámo 00:01:25
10. Proc jen já 00:05:50
11. Nádraží 00:03:36