Asanović, Tihomir “Pop”

  • Format: LP
  • Band: Asanović, Tihomir “Pop”
  • Title: Pop
  • Band's Origin: YU
  • Style: Jazz - Jazzrock, male & female vocals
  • Rating: 4
  • Release Year: 2018
  • Recording Year: 1975-1976
  • Production Year: 1976/2018
  • Record Company: Croatia Records
  • Item's Number: LP 6084258
  • Color of the Label: black/silver 2
  • Edition: 2018
  • Extras: 180 gram vinyl, fold out cover, insert
  • EAN: 3850126084258
  • Weight: 370 g
  • Visual: new
  • Acoustic:
  • Cover: new

Croatia Records Release Information

Reissues of the cult albums “Majko žemljo” (Mother Earth) and “Pop” (Priest) by Tihomir “Pop” Asanović as an introduction to his new album!

Back in 1973, he was declared one of the best jazz organists in Europe, just one year before his cult solo album “Majko žemljo” was released for Jugoton.

In 1976, he presented another record that would later gain cult status, “Pop” (also for Jugoton). All this was preceded by his work in the legendary group Time, then with the band September and as part of the Jugoslovenska Pop Selekcija (Yugoslavian Pop Selection). It is Tihomir Pop Asanović, whose name is written in golden letters in several of the most important pages of the history of Yugoslavian music. Generally one of the greatest domestic musicians, who has successfully combined jazz, funk and blues, as a session musician he also collaborated with the most eminent names from the area of the former Yugoslavia. After the fruitful seventies, which brought him at the top of the music scene, he retired without any explanation.

44 years since the first solo album and 46 years since the first album of Time, Croatia Records announces the reissue of the brilliant works “Majko žemljo” and “Pop” on LP and CD. The editions are accompanied by inserts (in the LPs) and booklets (in the CDs) in which the music critics Zlatko Gall and Petar “Peca” Popović have reviewed his work.

“A look back at Pop’s solo albums from the mid-seventies is absolutely worth every attention. Not only as a perhaps lost or marginalized document of a time that, until recently, was only known to “veterans” and vinyl collectors willing to shell out more than a hundred Euro for an original copy of “Majko zemljo”. At the same time, they provide a precise answer to the question of where the roots of the domestic jazz-funk fusion and of the great keyboard player who lives his new youth with a new band and a new album are,” says Zlatko Gall.

“He survived a clinical death and various trials, but somewhere from the shadows and silence he declared: “Every day I practice one hour in the morning, and one hour in the evening. It is not bad for health, but it is good for the music”. By listening to these long-ago works, it is easy to come to the conclusion that Asanović, the initiator of great “projects” such as Time, Jugoslovenska Pop Selekcija and September, is still needed today as an authority who will encourage others by work instead of prominence and fame to probe and experiment in an art such as music.” writes Petar “Peca” Popović.

And indeed, when it comes to music, when it comes to jazz as one of the most complex musical forms, one of the synonyms in the domestic sense is Tihomir “Pop” Asanović, a musician, organist, virtuoso and visionary. The reissue of the albums “Majko žemljo” and “Pop” is not only a reminder of his musical brilliance, but also the beginning of a new story woven into a brand new studio album, which we expect to be released for Croatia Records soon. The greatness of “Pop” music is shown by the large number of musical virtuosos and interpreters which he gathered for the recording of the new album, Vlatko Stefanovski, Radomir “Točak” Mihajlović, Dragan Jelić, Davor Črnigoj, Primož Grašič, Aki Rahimovski, Vlado Janevski, Karolina Gočeva , Janez Bončina, Sabrina Hebiri and many others, all under the production baton of Duško Mandić, one of the greatest producers in our area.

Full album:


Side A

1. Mali crni brat 3:11
2. Skakavac 3:24
3. Plejboj 2:51
4. Usamljena djevojka 3:27
5. Dođi drugi put 3:48

Side B

1. Hiljadu žena 2:09
2. Ekspres Novi Sad 8:08
3. O ljudima jučer, o ljudima danas 2:37
4. Vremena je malo 3:30