YU – All Stars 1977
4 lica jazza

  • Format: LP
  • Band: YU – All Stars 1977
  • Title: 4 lica jazza
  • Band's Origin: YU
  • Style: Jazz, live, instrumental (Side A, B & D), female vocals (Side C), English lyrics (Side C)
  • Rating: 3
  • Release Year: 2021
  • Recording Year: 1977
  • Production Year: 1978/2021
  • Record Company: Croatia Records
  • Item's Number: 2LP 6114924
  • Color of the Label: black/silver 1
  • Edition: 2021
  • Extras: 180 gram, fold out cover, insert
  • EAN: 3850126114924
  • Weight: 580 g
  • Visual: new
  • Acoustic:
  • Cover: new
Damir Dičić, Ratko Divjak, Duško Gojković, Jovan Miković, Boško Petrović, Krešimir Remeta & Bora Roković

Croatia Records Release Information

The album “4 lica jazza” (4 Faces of Jazz) by the supergroup YU – All Stars 1977 is back on vinyl

Our area has always been extremely rich in multi-talented jazz musicians who created careers on world stages as well. The members of YU – All Stars 1977, who released the album “4 lica jazza” for Jugoton in 1978, are also included in that rank of excellence. Over time, the album achieved cult status and fetched a high price on the collector’s market.

The founding of this supergroup and the release of the album has been recalled in the booklet accompanying the reissue by the then editor-in-chief of Jugoton Dubravko Majnarić. “...Boško Petrović informed me about the initiative to establish the YU – All Stars ensemble, which would include a few selected soloists, regardless of whether they live in the territory of the former Yugoslavia or abroad. And so, with the support of the Center for Youth Cultural Activities, the Zagreb Concert Directorate, the Ljubljana Jazz Society, Radio Television Zagreb, the Lisinski Concert Hall and Jugoton, an ensemble was formed that included Boško Petrović (vibraphone), Damir Dičić (guitar), Krešimir Remeta (double bass), from the Federal Republic of Germany Duško Gojković (trumpet and flugelhorn), Bora Roković (piano), from Belgrade Jovan Miković (tenor saxophone), Nada Knežević (vocals) and from Ljubljana Ratko Divjak (drums)... ”

The album was recorded in the autumn of 1977 in Zagreb, and the live promotional performances took place in December of the same year in the Lisinski Concert Hall and Lapidarij Youth Club in Zagreb and in the Union Cinema Hall in Ljubljana, where it was also recorded on television. The conceptual design of the original edition was done by Ordan Petlevski, and the artistic adaptation of the reissue was done by Darko Kujundžić.

“When we listen to these performances today, forty years later, we witness a high level of musicianship and understanding of jazz in the former Yugoslavia, ” concludes Majnarić. The reissue on double vinyl brings remastered compositions from the original tapes (Goran Martinac, Croatia Records Studio), and an additional booklet with lyrics by Dubravko Majnarić, the initiator of this reissue and a long-time jazz musician and producer.

This edition is another confirmation of jazz excellence in our area, and the numerous awards associated with the names of the mentioned instrumental and vocal soloists speak volumes about their recognition on the world jazz stages.

Full album: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLy8zbyhSfee1jRcXEH5OQGODkvxgq2Yda


Side A

1. Kosmet 16:08
2. Ribara starog kći 7:06

Side B

1. Moja balkanska dama 11:07
2. San zelenog jastoga 13:52

Side C

1. All of Me 3:13
2. Round about Midnight 3:29
3. Mr. Paganini 4:22
4. Nearness of You 3:27
5. Djeca rastu brzo 6:00

Side D

1. Pjesma za tebe 12:42
2. Nježni dodir 4:01