• Format: LP
  • Band: Katapult
  • Title: 2006
  • Band's Origin: CS
  • Style: Rock
  • Rating: 3
  • Release Year: 2023
  • Recording Year: 1979
  • Production Year: 1980/2023
  • Record Company: Supraphon
  • Item's Number: SU 6783-1
  • Color of the Label: black
  • Edition: 2023
  • Extras: 180 gram vinyl, inner sleeve
  • EAN: 099925678319
  • Weight: 296 g
  • Visual: new
  • Acoustic:
  • Cover: new

Supraphon Release Information

Re-release of the essential album: LP + CD = O. Ř. 75!

After several successful singles and a debut concert recording, the second album of Katapult was released in 1980. The hard rock trio of Oldřich Říha, Jiří Šindelář and Anatoli Kohout was extremely popular on stage, now they got a chance to refine their starting points in the studio, to arrange more richly and not be tied down by footage. At the time, their work was described by some critics as too simple, including the lyrics by Ladislav Vostárek.

Today, however, it is quite clear that riffy guitar songs with instantly memorable choruses, complemented by civil singing about real life situations, have definitely won the battle against time. “Až…” (Until...), “Svobodárna”, “Tvůj první mejdan” (Your First Party), “Jen jednou dostat šanci” (Just once Get a Chance) or “Vojín XY hlásí příchod” (Soldier XY Announces His Arrival) are the enduring anthems of the crowds of fans. Clear melodies and well-chosen themes for the target audience, resulting in an energetically played and urgently sung hit Czech big beat.

Otakar Petřina stood up for them at the beginning of his career, here he added his guitar skills and studio experience. For example, the almost eight-minute Vojín XY is an example of an unusually free form with a perfectly endless conclusion. The helpers were important, but the real band essence was always in the basic rock trio, a cohesive line-up of excellent musicians and friends. The cover of the new reissue features little-known photos, for example, as well as a look back at Mayְ’s seventy-five-year-old Oldřich Říha.


Side A

1. Až... 2:59
2. Svobodárna 2:24
3. Dvě růže krepový 4:01
4. Tvůj první mejdan 3:11
5. Čtyři díly noci 3:06
6. Jsi křehká 3:29

Side B

1. Kolotoč velkoměsta 3:18
2. Jen jednou dostat šanci 2:37
3. Šel zvolna 3:09
4. Vojín XY hlásí příchod 7:45