Plastic People of the Universe, The
Jak bude po smrti / Afterlife

  • Format: LP
  • Band: Plastic People of the Universe, The
  • Title: Jak bude po smrti / Afterlife
  • Band's Origin: CS
  • Style: psychedelic Rock, Underground Rock
  • Rating: 3
  • Release Year: 2023
  • Recording Year: 1979
  • Production Year: 1998/2023
  • Record Company: Guerilla Records
  • Item's Number: GR 204-1
  • Color of the Label: beige
  • Edition: original
  • Extras: 180 gram vinyl, inner sleeve, poster
  • EAN: 8594156572044
  • Weight: 376 g
  • Visual: new
  • Acoustic:
  • Cover: new

Guerilla Records Release Information

A flat recording of the programme from the apartment of the sound engineer Lubomír Nováček, which the band once rejected; they did not find it sonically good. However, 21st century technology helped us to run the recording through the machines of the Jámor studio and with the consent of all the players we are publishing it. They themselves were surprised at how good it sounds, and in hindsight are more satisfied with it than the concert that was originally released.

Again, a foldout cover with many unique photographs from the concert in Nová Víska (not only the photographs but also the exact date have not survived from the recording), bilingual text enriched with copies of prints by Petr Švestka (otherwise the author of the cover), which come from the 1983 self-released edition of the graphic sheets for this recording. This edition includes an appendix in the form of a reprint of the newspaper Literární svět, which published an obituary of Josef Kodíček, Klím’s friend and feared critic, on the occasion of Klím’s death. On the other side is Klím’s own biography, an inimitable reflection of himself, the philosopher of madness.

The members themselves consider this recording “The darkest, harshest, least concentrated, nervous, full of a kind of fear and depression – it is, in short, an unwanted record of a kind of “shenanigans” of that time... the endless circumambulation of the five fields, when the logs almost drove us into the ground. That’s probably how Vrat’s project “Jak bude po smrti” (How Will It Be after Death) was created.” (Jan Brabec)


Side A

1. Jak bude po smrti / Afterlife 16:34

Side B

1. Slavná Nemesis / Glorious Nemesis 14:27
2. Jsem absolutní vůle / I Am the Absolute Will 8:37