Petřina, Ota & Super-Robot

  • Format: CD
  • Band: Petřina, Ota & Super-Robot
  • Title: Komplet
  • Band's Origin: CS
  • Style: progressive Rock
  • Rating: 4/4
  • Release Year: 2009
  • Recording Year: 1977 & 1982
  • Production Year: 1978 & 1983/2009
  • Record Company: Supraphon
  • Item's Number: SU 5967-2
  • Color of the Label:
  • Edition:
  • Extras:
  • EAN: 099925596729
  • Weight: 112 g
  • Visual: new
  • Acoustic:
  • Cover: new

Supraphon Release Information

A Czech rock guitar legend on a compilation of recordings from his solo project!

Ota Petřina has been a permanent fixture on the Czech rock scene owing to his conspicuous mane and, most significantly, outstanding creative and instrumental contribution to a number of recordings for his pop and big beat colleagues, from Golden Kids through Václav Neckář and C & K Vocal to Petra Janů. The year, when he is celebrating his 60th birthday, is a good opportunity to recall a fascinating solo project of him.

For his debut album Super-Robot, Petřina, who sings, plays the guitar, flute and mouth-organ, invited along to the studio the percussionist Tolja Kohout, the bassist Vladimír Padrůněk and the guest keyboard player Jan Neckář, a line-up in 1978 of veritable supergroup status. Together with the single Karin / Vnitřní svět tvých jantarových očí (Karin / The Inner World of Your Amber Eyes), the Super-Robot album makes up the first CD, adorned with Zdeněk Rytíř’s lyrics and Alan Pajer’s photos.

The 1983 album Pečeť (Seal), previously unavailable on CD, continues in the line of melodiously powerful, even psychedelic songs. It contains intricate lengthy pieces (Hemingway, Obálka), as well as short acoustic works, all of them thoroughly elaborate and splendidly sung. The photographs were again taken by Pajer, while the engrossing lyrics were written by Pavel Vrba. The song Marilyn, Goodbye, not released at the time of the album’s origination and known as performed by Luboš Pospíšil, is here presented in the original rendition.

Ota Petřina: One of the finest Czech artrock guitarists and vocalists!

Kalemegdan Disk Additions

Two beautiful arranged prog rock albums with suiting bonus tracks.


CD 1 Super-Robot – ℗ 1978

1. Já nejsem já 10:42
2. Čas neodeslaných dopisů 4:42
3. Nebýt tebe 5:44
4. Tak zazpívej jí blues 3:44
5. Podivín 1:55
6. Computer III. generace 4:50
7. Super-robot 11:35
8. Karin 5:09
9. Vnitřní svět tvých jantarových očí 4:31

CD 2 Pečeť – ℗ 1983

1. Hemingway 15:04
2. Čas 5:07
3. Odchod 2:59
4. Phalaenopsis 2:04
5. Kopřiva 3:51
6. Obálka 10:22
7. Syn 1:21
8. Marylin, Goodbye 5:30